Author Topic: adjustable pressure switches, no longer available  (Read 3566 times)

Offline DKnight

  • Administrators
  • *****
  • Posts: 1426
adjustable pressure switches, no longer available
« on: February 19, 2011, 06:12:35 pm »
was looking for the correct pressure switch and found 2 supplies both who say they are no longer available

anyone know of anywhere else? JBS no longer do them and neither do aquamist


http://www.jbsautodesigns.co.uk/product/3826/adjustable-pressure-switch-022-bar-current-05a-max?utm_source=googlebase&utm_medium=cpc


any alternatives?

cheers

Offline dub-disaster

  • Members
  • *****
  • Posts: 1623
Re: adjustable pressure switches, no longer available
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2011, 07:01:03 pm »
I got mine from eBay

Offline cheys03

  • Members
  • *****
  • Posts: 794
Re: adjustable pressure switches, no longer available
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2011, 07:10:04 pm »
Got mine from www.pvl.co.uk about October time. Came with a 1/4 BSP fitting though. Not disastrous mind

Offline DKnight

  • Administrators
  • *****
  • Posts: 1426
Re: adjustable pressure switches, no longer available
« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2011, 08:09:16 pm »
you got a link to the ebay one? i searched and searched but could not find the right one

god damn noob i am lol

Offline cheys03

  • Members
  • *****
  • Posts: 794
Re: adjustable pressure switches, no longer available
« Reply #4 on: February 19, 2011, 08:33:26 pm »
The last time I looked on eBay the chap could only supply ones with a normally closed contact. Shame as they were a few quid cheaper.

Offline cheys03

  • Members
  • *****
  • Posts: 794
Re: adjustable pressure switches, no longer available
« Reply #5 on: February 20, 2011, 12:08:20 pm »
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Stainless-Steel-adjustable-pressure-switch-15-2-bar-/150559095626?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item230e057b4a

Searched for 'adjustable pressure switch'. But it's the same chap who can only get normally closed contact switches.

Offline vwmk3jon

  • Members
  • *****
  • Posts: 1405
Re: adjustable pressure switches, no longer available
« Reply #6 on: February 20, 2011, 11:31:44 pm »
How they wire in? Only thing i havent looked at yet :o

Offline cheys03

  • Members
  • *****
  • Posts: 794
Re: adjustable pressure switches, no longer available
« Reply #7 on: February 20, 2011, 11:34:18 pm »
Wire in place of your full throttle switch on the TB. Have a search, there are some smart ideas of how to mount the switch.

Edit: http://www.polog40.co.uk/forum/index.php/topic,2800.0.html

Offline DKnight

  • Administrators
  • *****
  • Posts: 1426
Re: adjustable pressure switches, no longer available
« Reply #8 on: February 22, 2011, 11:42:41 am »
well i have been told by 2 companies now that they no longer sell them, what to doooooo

Offline cheys03

  • Members
  • *****
  • Posts: 794
Re: adjustable pressure switches, no longer available
« Reply #9 on: February 22, 2011, 12:39:00 pm »
Do those two companies include www.pvl.co.uk ?

Offline hayesey

  • Administrators
  • *****
  • Posts: 5699
  • The CV joint killer
    • ClubG40
Re: adjustable pressure switches, no longer available
« Reply #10 on: February 22, 2011, 01:32:38 pm »
no I think he's been told by ERL and someone who buys them from ERL. 

I MSN'd Dan this link:

http://www.epvl.co.uk/pressure_switches/pmn_pressure_switch.html

Although I notice it does say stock "on order".... but that doesn't suggest they're obsolete.

Offline vwmk3jon

  • Members
  • *****
  • Posts: 1405
Re: adjustable pressure switches, no longer available
« Reply #11 on: February 24, 2011, 12:51:52 pm »
So what's the difference between the pressure switch and an adjustable boost switch to go on the dash? I've got both and just wondering which to use?

Offline hayesey

  • Administrators
  • *****
  • Posts: 5699
  • The CV joint killer
    • ClubG40
Re: adjustable pressure switches, no longer available
« Reply #12 on: February 24, 2011, 01:56:44 pm »
not really sure what you mean by an adjustable boost switch to go on the dash, what is it?  Is it a wastegate bleed valve?  If so then two different things for two different jobs.

The switch we're talking about replaces the full-throttle switch to put the ECU into on-boost fuel enrichment mode.

Offline dub-disaster

  • Members
  • *****
  • Posts: 1623
Re: adjustable pressure switches, no longer available
« Reply #13 on: February 24, 2011, 02:49:25 pm »
You could always use a nc pressure switch and then feed a realy and use that for the no switch

Offline hayesey

  • Administrators
  • *****
  • Posts: 5699
  • The CV joint killer
    • ClubG40
Re: adjustable pressure switches, no longer available
« Reply #14 on: February 24, 2011, 02:59:57 pm »
can do but why add unnecessary complications and more things to go wrong.  just use the correct thing in the first place.  Even if PVL cant supply that one you'll be able to get an adjustable pressure switch from somewhere