Author Topic: audio upgrades???  (Read 2143 times)

Offline gti jack

• Members
audio upgrades???
« on: August 12, 2010, 06:43:02 pm »
yo,
i am a proffesional car audio installer and have fitted many of things in to many of cars and no a fair bit about brands etc,
but obviously the polo g40 isnt really a car that pepole tend to do massive upgrades in (not what ive done anyway lol) so im asking for some help!
all i want is some bass, the car does have upgraded speakers running off the headunit wich is a waste of time without an amp, but due to the size of the speakers in the dash and the rear and the speakers having no zone to contain sound so there really shite,

what have pepole done in order to achive some good sound? i was thinking false floor in the boot, and speaker pods in the front but to me the pods seem way to exspensive for what they are,
be good to hear what pepole have done  ;)

jack

Offline SamG40

• Administrators
  • Take.... on.... me....
Re: audio upgrades???
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2010, 08:32:25 pm »
In my old G I had some Infinity Kappas in the standard front locations but I had to cut the inner ring of plastic from the dash to fit them in as they were slightly too large and some Mac audio speakers in the rear shelf (were already in the car when I got it). I ran them and a 12" sub off a Denon 6 channel amp and it sounded ok. I dunno whether it was due to the size of the front speakers and their postioning or my Alpine headunit but the only problem I had with it was it was a bit too bright for me. When turned up a bit certain sounds could be almost painful. I wanted to swap the headunit out eventually for something a little warmer and swap the 12" sub for a 10" as I dont listen to anything that bass heavy.