Author Topic: 6 psi boost switch?  (Read 5149 times)

Offline sinister polo

  • Members
  • *****
  • Posts: 161
  • drive it like u stole it
6 psi boost switch?
« on: May 15, 2010, 09:12:53 pm »
i have noticed that people are using these on turbo builds and was just wondering what purpose they serve!
im guessing it has something to do with the fueling, for when the turbo spools you get the correct amount of fuel?

also where can i get one from as im currently building a turbo'ed engine and im guessing its needed!

pics of where to install it and what to connect it to would be greatly appreciated aswell!

Offline Robin

  • Members
  • *****
  • Posts: 1178
  • 194bhp - 1341 Turbo
Re: 6 psi boost switch?
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2010, 09:47:05 pm »
its used to replace the full throttle switch in the throttle body.

Offline markg40T

  • Members
  • *****
  • Posts: 65
Re: 6 psi boost switch?
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2011, 06:59:06 pm »
does anyone know where you can get these from. really need one so i can get the g40 started for the first time in 3 years

Offline hayesey

  • Administrators
  • *****
  • Posts: 5630
  • The CV joint killer
    • ClubG40
Re: 6 psi boost switch?
« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2011, 07:48:28 pm »
PVL sell them

Offline vwmk3jon

  • Members
  • *****
  • Posts: 1383
Re: 6 psi boost switch?
« Reply #4 on: June 01, 2011, 05:21:17 pm »
right, ive removed the WOT switch and got the pressure switch to sit inside the thottebody nicely. I got an emil with instructions on but they make no sense to me. I've cut the wires to the WOTswitch (brown & yellow) and i've cut th insulation bck on the other wire and theyre also brown & yellow. Which wires do i connect to the switch? do i need to cut into the wiring loom just infornt of the plug for the throttlebody?

Offline Andy

  • Traders
  • *****
  • Posts: 1494
Re: 6 psi boost switch?
« Reply #5 on: June 01, 2011, 05:48:16 pm »
The wires going to the throttle body switches in the ECU wiring harness should be Blue/Black (WOT switch), Red/Blue (Idle Switch), and Brown/Blue (Ground).

You cut the WOT switch wire and join the loom side to your normally-open pressure switch. Insulate the connector side, you don't need it. The other side of your pressure switch needs to be grounded - use the Brown/Blue ground wire to do this, but don't cut it as you still need it for your idle switch to work! Leave the connector plugged in to the TB as normal.

The above assumes you're wiring up the pressure switch outside of the throttle body, directly into the wiring harness. If you're doing it inside the TB the wire colours may be different - but you should be able to match up what does what from the above.

Offline Jezza-7

  • Members
  • *****
  • Posts: 3824
Re: 6 psi boost switch?
« Reply #6 on: June 02, 2011, 06:00:44 pm »
Sorry to steal this thread but i have a wire that goes from my a/f wideband gauge to be wired in to the wot wire. Is that blue/black wire the one to use as i wasn't sure?

Offline vwmk3jon

  • Members
  • *****
  • Posts: 1383
Re: 6 psi boost switch?
« Reply #7 on: June 05, 2011, 11:53:29 am »
dumb ass question time...........where does the vacuum pipe from the PS need to be plumbed to? Also, I cant see a + and - on the PS terminals. Will it be obvious if theyre the wrong way round?
« Last Edit: June 05, 2011, 05:29:44 pm by vwmk3jon »

Offline cheys03

  • Members
  • *****
  • Posts: 794
Re: 6 psi boost switch?
« Reply #8 on: June 05, 2011, 06:29:38 pm »
It's a simple pressure-operated switch. There is no +/- or wrong way around.
Vacuum needs to go to any vacuum line after the throttle plate. I would avoid the FPR and ECU vacuum hoses though. Mine's plumbed into the vacuum take-off on the front of the throttle body.

Offline vwmk3jon

  • Members
  • *****
  • Posts: 1383
Re: 6 psi boost switch?
« Reply #9 on: June 05, 2011, 08:14:43 pm »
ah ha, i see. cheers chap ;)

Need to get the soldering iron to it tomorrow to secure the wires and then swap the throttlebodys over and wire in :)

Offline markg40T

  • Members
  • *****
  • Posts: 65
Re: 6 psi boost switch?
« Reply #10 on: June 06, 2011, 05:09:43 pm »
if you do order a valve from pvl you can specify them to be set at a presure. i had mine set at 6psi and just presure checked it at work and its spot on.

Offline shaun_89

  • Members
  • *****
  • Posts: 71
Re: 6 psi boost switch?
« Reply #11 on: July 19, 2011, 01:49:50 pm »
Just had a look on the pvl website, which switch are people using? Not sure which one to get...
thanks

Offline cheys03

  • Members
  • *****
  • Posts: 794
Re: 6 psi boost switch?
« Reply #12 on: July 20, 2011, 09:05:35 am »
http://www.pvl.co.uk/pressure_switches/pmn_pressure_switch.html

0.1-1bar or 0.15-2bar range. Normally open. Standard seals. You'll need a 1/4bsp fitting for the pressure line, available from eBay usually for motorbike applications.

Offline shaun_89

  • Members
  • *****
  • Posts: 71
Re: 6 psi boost switch?
« Reply #13 on: July 20, 2011, 11:06:34 am »
http://www.pvl.co.uk/pressure_switches/pmn_pressure_switch.html

0.1-1bar or 0.15-2bar range. Normally open. Standard seals. You'll need a 1/4bsp fitting for the pressure line, available from eBay usually for motorbike applications.

Thank you  :)

Offline cheys03

  • Members
  • *****
  • Posts: 794
Re: 6 psi boost switch?
« Reply #14 on: July 20, 2011, 07:00:52 pm »
Np ;)