Author Topic: G40 engine rebuild ?  (Read 3791 times)

Offline PeteDG2

G40 engine rebuild ?
« on: March 21, 2018, 04:19:00 pm »
Advice needed please, plenty of it!

PeteG40 recommended I post my dilemma, to tap into this valuable resource called Club G40...

So, I replicate my quandary as follows;

"I'm no mechanic, nor engine-knowledgeable, just a long time owner who loves his car.

Brief details of my issue;

1. on local journey, climbing a short hill, accelerated to clear what seemed to be a bit of coking build-up
2. engine 'blew' and began burning oil as was evident from rear view mirror
3. was able to keep going a mile until pulled up on destination car park
4. opened bonnet to find oil everywhere, as if all seals burst
5. was able to drive the 9 miles home
6. was able to drive car 16 miles to garage at no more than 40 mph for assessment/diagnosis
7. trusted mechanic determined engine rebuild needed - probably s/charger too as had a slow oil leak it appeared
8. agreement for 'when-poss' engine rebuild by VW mad mechanic not eventually possible
9. car currently sitting at garage waiting for me to bring home and do whatever....

I was probably in vain, hoping to find someone who was qualified to rebuild the engine, maybe gradually, which would suit my budget!
I'd agreed with my trusted mechanic for him to take the engine apart and hopefully rebuild, unless he found an issue which would make a rebuild impracticable i.e. cost. He couldn't find the time, which is what I suspected after a while. That's why the car is still at his garage.

The costs involved, even if I find a reputable someone, would probably determine repairs impracticable (if not prohibitive!) but I don't know... for sure.

My options seem to be;

1. find 'a someone' reputable, able and willing and pay...whatever
2. sell the car as a project