Author Topic: Aerial cable  (Read 2157 times)

Offline RyanC

  • Members
  • *****
  • Posts: 360
Aerial cable
« on: June 29, 2014, 04:55:30 pm »
The cable that goes from the radio to the aerial in the roof has a small cable linked to the main aerial cable dose anyone know what it dose?
There is no where on the aerial for it to connect to and I'm sure they are not live feed aerial like modern cars

Anyone know?

Thanks
« Last Edit: June 29, 2014, 04:59:09 pm by RyanC »

Offline RyanC

  • Members
  • *****
  • Posts: 360
Re: Aerial cable
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2014, 05:04:10 pm »


This is at the roof end just the small black connector
Can't see any cable on the wiring diagram

Just seen it in the wronge section :/
« Last Edit: June 29, 2014, 05:08:18 pm by RyanC »

Offline RyanC

  • Members
  • *****
  • Posts: 360
Re: Aerial cable
« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2014, 06:58:11 pm »
All sorted it's a amplifier wire for a amplified base witch they don't have ha

Offline PeteG40

  • Administrators
  • *****
  • Posts: 4008
  • Housewives heart throb
Re: Aerial cable
« Reply #3 on: June 30, 2014, 07:33:41 am »
They do if you have a proper one!!

Offline RyanC

  • Members
  • *****
  • Posts: 360
Re: Aerial cable
« Reply #4 on: June 30, 2014, 09:30:08 pm »
Yh mine don't, but it's is a gen aerial.. Strange

Offline PeteG40

  • Administrators
  • *****
  • Posts: 4008
  • Housewives heart throb
Re: Aerial cable
« Reply #5 on: June 30, 2014, 10:12:51 pm »
it'll be a vw aerial, but off another motor probably.

Offline Alexiskayak_7

  • Members
  • *****
  • Posts: 625
Re: Aerial cable
« Reply #6 on: July 06, 2014, 03:19:29 am »
I have a question too.
1st of all, i haven't taken apart the roof sealing and to be honest, i don't want to if there is no reason.

The question. I have a poor signal quality on my radio (compared of course with other cars). The arial is plugged properly in the back of the player. Is there any other connections in the arial cable that suffers and reduces signal quality?

Any ideas?

Offline RyanC

  • Members
  • *****
  • Posts: 360
Re: Aerial cable
« Reply #7 on: July 06, 2014, 09:06:15 pm »
The additional plug is a amplifier 12v feed to the aeriel base if that looses it live feed you will struggle to get a signal in most places

Offline Alexiskayak_7

  • Members
  • *****
  • Posts: 625
Re: Aerial cable
« Reply #8 on: July 14, 2014, 10:58:54 pm »
I have to take apart the roof sealing i suppose, right?

Offline ian

  • Members
  • *****
  • Posts: 78
Re: Aerial cable
« Reply #9 on: July 15, 2014, 12:30:53 pm »
You could try a booster by the stereo first, it might cure it without the need to mess with the headlining.