Author Topic: polo g40  (Read 5456 times)

Offline dubmanic

• Members
polo g40
« on: November 10, 2008, 06:22:13 pm »
hi newbie here,got myself a tornado red g40 at the weekend.its got a jabba sport charger,ind kit,and st-steel exhaust cat back,ive been reading some owners been fitting 51mm throttle bodys,what do these throttle bodys come off?my mate has a vw breakers so getting the part be easy(thats if its vw part!)and does anybody have the part number?also whats the best inlet manifold?my mate had a g40 years back,he fitted a gt manifold,is there any other polo manifolds that give better power than g40 std ones?any help will be grateful.cheers daveby be way pic of my g40.

Offline Gary

• Members
  • just one last thing....
Re: polo g40
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2008, 06:30:00 pm »
51mm throttle body is just a standard g40 one bored out with the wedges removed from the butterfly. Pitstop used to sell these, but the company is no more.

A Port matched GT throttle body is better than a standard G40 one, altho they can be dificult to get...

Nice G btw!

Offline PeteG40

• Administrators
  • Housewives heart throb
« Reply #2 on: November 10, 2008, 06:32:34 pm »
gt inlet manifolds are bigger bore.

as for exhaust manifolds the normal ones are good till about 150bhp. then stainless big bore ones from polo performance parts are good (same as pitstop used to do)

pete

Offline dubmanic

• Members
« Reply #3 on: November 10, 2008, 06:39:23 pm »
gt inlet manifolds are bigger bore.

as for exhaust manifolds the normal ones are good till about 150bhp. then stainless big bore ones from polo performance parts are good (same as pitstop used to do)

pete
cheers chaps 4 the answers to then questions.if i de-wedge the butterfly,are the wedges screwed on to the butterfly,and if so do i have to fill in the holes left over?i sound like a div :D.just new to the 40 always had g60`s

Offline G-spot

• Members
« Reply #4 on: November 10, 2008, 07:07:26 pm »