Author Topic: Front hub nut???  (Read 1095 times)

Offline AdzCM

  • Members
  • *****
  • Posts: 449
Front hub nut???
« on: June 16, 2010, 06:32:44 pm »
Im getting really annoyed at the front hub nut, It just will not loosen. Is there any simpler way of getting the strut out i.e. by removing the driveshaft?

Ive had my dad stand on the brake and im hitting the bar/socket with a hammer and it still won't loosen ... maybe im not trying hard enough, im worried about breaking something.......

Any ideas??

Adrian
« Last Edit: June 16, 2010, 06:36:57 pm by AdzCM »

Offline Etches

  • Members
  • *****
  • Posts: 1377
Re: Front hub nut???
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2010, 07:08:06 pm »
I would only describe the way you should tighten these as F**kin tight, just get a really long breaker bar dude n it should crack off

Offline hayesey

  • Administrators
  • *****
  • Posts: 5643
  • The CV joint killer
    • ClubG40
Re: Front hub nut???
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2010, 07:48:41 pm »
yeah get a bigger bar on it or use a piece of scaffolding tube or something over the bar you already have to lengthen it.

Offline PeteG40

  • Administrators
  • *****
  • Posts: 3996
  • Housewives heart throb
Re: Front hub nut???
« Reply #3 on: June 16, 2010, 07:49:57 pm »
stand  on the breaker bar - with the car on the ground and with someone on the brakes works for me

Offline cheys03

  • Members
  • *****
  • Posts: 794
Re: Front hub nut???
« Reply #4 on: June 16, 2010, 08:36:43 pm »
As above, stand on the breaker bar. We snapped one when doing my drive nuts. Whoops...! Halfords have recently refreshed their breaker bar stock - they were out of stock everywhere in order to introduce the new model. I think the only difference between the old bar and the new is a small inscription "Do not use with an extension bar or pole" written on the side  :D
Must've had a lot of returns or a 'no win no fee' case after one snapped.

Offline jgb888

  • Members
  • *****
  • Posts: 75
Re: Front hub nut???
« Reply #5 on: June 17, 2010, 12:02:01 am »
use an inch breaker bar, no fuckin with them i use them on combines!!!

as before stick scaffold tube on with someone on breaks and it will give way!

Offline AdzCM

  • Members
  • *****
  • Posts: 449
Re: Front hub nut???
« Reply #6 on: June 17, 2010, 03:18:23 am »
Cheers guys, I found a long metal tube bout 1.5m long to fit over the bar/socket n it did the trick, strut finally out :)

Thanks again!