Author Topic: Cam belt change HELP please :)  (Read 3674 times)

Offline dani1326

• Members
Cam belt change HELP please :)
« on: November 29, 2010, 04:59:28 pm »
i need my cam belt changing ASAP so has anyone got a guide to how to do this? ( where to lock off the cam, crank and so on )???

thanks peeps

Offline dani1326

• Members
Re: Cam belt change HELP please :)
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2010, 05:03:55 pm »
ohhh am i better off with VAG parts ( water pump/belt ) or can i use GSF parts??

anyone got any part number for ordering?? i haven't got a clue what year the engine is sooo.... :/ need help

also what haynes manual will i need for my Polo G40 1.3 engine ( sorry to be a pain im new to the G40 :) )

thanks  :)
« Last Edit: November 29, 2010, 05:18:13 pm by dani1326 »

Offline Jezza-7

• Members
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2010, 05:50:27 pm »
If you go to vw for water pump its on an exchange basis and they give you one with plastic blades on. Most people tend to prefer metal blades as the plastic ones can snap off/melt.

But you do get a year warranty on vag parts. I would go for the cam belt from them as its only £12 or something.

Offline dani1326

• Members
« Reply #3 on: November 29, 2010, 05:54:00 pm »
If you go to vw for water pump its on an exchange basis and they give you one with plastic blades on. Most people tend to prefer metal blades as the plastic ones can snap off/melt.

But you do get a year warranty on vag parts. I would go for the cam belt from them as its only £12 or something.

Nice one... I don't have an engine code or year of the engine to get the parts so any clue where it I's?? I think mine it a py :/

Offline scotsjohn

• Members
  • Probably the oldest G driver in the Universe.
« Reply #4 on: November 29, 2010, 05:56:45 pm »